Game Night #14: Batman Fluxx

Backstory:
One night while I was waiting for a Heroclix tournament to start, I was browsing the game section at the old venue we played it- a local game store with old used video games and other assorted board/card games. As soon as I saw this game there, I bought it, having no idea what it was, just that it was based on Batman: The New Adventures. Yes, I have a problem!

The Rules:
In Fluxx, it’s simple: the game begins with no goal and one rule: draw a card, play a card. But your cards have a ton of “new rules” you can add to the game and goals with which how to win the game, which can also be replaced during it. It’s absolute chaos!

The Players:

Savannah versus Dad in the Ultimate Showdown!!

Game #1:

We actually started with 3 players this game, as Sydney wanted to give it a try. We saw it was for players aged 8 and up but she’s going to be 8 in a few months and wanted to try. We were all reacclimating ourselves to how it’s played and trying to help her at the same time. She flashed her cards a few times and would just show us cards, asking what to do with it. We went to the model of just play the card you want, and we’ll help you decide how it works or if there’s a better way to use it. She was actually doing pretty well. We were learning all the rules when at one point, Savannah drew a card saying she had to draw 2 and play them- well, the goal card she played, I already had both Keepers out on the table, so I won that one, but it was pretty funny.

Game #2

Sydney dipped out and decided to write a letter to the Easter Bunny as we played just the two of us- this was a fun game with a lot of zany cards coming in and out. Probably one of my favorites I drew was the Batman Logo card, which allowed you to draw an additional card each turn if you were wearing any clothing item with Batman or his log on it! This game came down to one good draw from my pile where I was allowed to steal a Keeper from Savannah; I stole her Commissioner Gordon and I had just drawn the Goal card of Batgirl + Gordon and I’d started the game with Batgirl, so I was able to steal out a win!

Game #3

This was a crazy one- Savannah, within like 3 turns, had 4 Keepers out on her table! As the game grew on, our New Rules kept going and going, with like 6-7 rules out at once! One of them allowed you to use a Free Action and draw a card, but you had to play it immediately. It added to the chaos that had come before it. Later on, Savannah drew the Bank card, which let her draw 2 extra cards a turn and I drew the Batcomputer, which extended my hand, draw and play pile by 1. So she was drawing 5 cards a turn and I was drawing 4! Savannah played a cool card that reset the rules back to the basics, which was good as it was a little much and then I got super lucky and drew a card allowing me to steal one of her Keepers, then a second card that allowed me to discard every villain on the field- and she had 4 out while I had 3. In fact, her most recent goal- “Cold Cash” was the Bank and Mr. Freeze, which was like the only villain she didn’t have! I got lucky on that one as she was playing some great cards. Hence, her holding up Freeze’s card above!

Overall, Fluxx is a fun game and it’s hard to take it too, too serious as the rules change on a dime but that makes it unpredictable. You could really color this game to any sort of character or show but I loved the idea of using Batman the New Adventures. Savannah afterwards said she really loved it and we had a blast!


Leave a comment