After the Event (Issue #3) Coralin of the Sea (2 of 7)

Class was delayed this morning as a school of humpback whales were migrating to the outer North Pacific to give birth. That meant less time with my dear Garth of the Water. I dream of the day when our kingdoms can unite and I may carry his mer-child within my loins and be his forever, in love and in history. I was in such a joyous mood I thought to surprise King Father with a visit. I had not spoken to him since he broke the news of my engagement to Kellen. Strong, handsome, Captain of the Conch Shell team, every girl in school would love to be betrothed to him. But he was too arrogant, and I had seen him kick a peasant in the street once. It was awful and I thought of him the same way. Father often stays in his council chambers and works suck long hours. The hallway was empty of guards, which was very unusual. Father never went anywhere without his guards. Someone was speaking though so he must not be alone. As I crept ever closer, I recognized the poisonous speech of my father’s advisor, Atlan.

“The time is now, my King. You’ve waited long and patiently. King Orin is too friendly and foolish to mistake your treatise as anything but diplomatic friendship. Instead of questioning why now, he will openly accept your terms and hope to bring together your two houses. Your Princess Daughter grows too fond of their kind.”

“Stop, Atlan. My daughter may be fool-headed and strong-willed but love a Water-born Prince she would not. She knows it would be a betrayal, not just of her kingdom but of my heart. You are right on one account thought: Orin is a fool. But not as blind as you would have me believe. Remember wisely Atlan: i fought with Orin on the battlefield when we divided up this kingdom. He’s braver than all of his army and not as dull-witted as most you see in battle. But if you say the time is now…”

“The time has passed, in my opinion. But my words and plans go unheeded.”

“Your words were heard and taken note of. A King does not act on all words, for if he did, he would not be King long. I have thought on them and now I’m in agreeance. We send the false treatise, then we strike.”

What was my father speaking of? Treatise, no one has been told of this. Tell me my father is not thinking of doing something devious to King Orin? Or worse, his son Garth?

“The treatise is already written and been looked over by me twice forth.”
“You presume to know my mind, Atlan, before I share my thoughts with you. Too presumptuous for my advisor.”
“Not presumptuous, loyal King, confident you will choose the right path. You should be the one true King of all land under the sea’s break. You are the only man fit enough to rule all people and creatures of Atlantis. You.”
“Yes, yes, there will be plenty of time for praise and honor when we usurp the throne. But make it clear: we only attack on my command. And King Orin is mine to dispose of. I’ve earned that right and will claim it.”

“Of course, my King. It will be your greatest achievement.”

Soldiers were coming this way; I quickly tried to duck behind a raiment in the corner. They went down the other corridor. But I’d never hear what they were saying this far back. I need to get…I hear something, a labored breathing.

“AHHHH!”
Atlan’s chilly eyes were looking down at me.

“Little Princess, how sweet of you to join us!” He gripped my neck and squeezed, his long fingernails digging into my flesh. Father was seated at the head of his long black table, in the shape of a monstrous manta ray, and he was grimaced.

“Princess Daughter, had you been eavesdropping on me? What is the meaning of this?”
“Only to surprise you, King Father. I’ve heard nothing of your plans. I only just arrived.”
“What plans do you mean, little one? The King and I spoke of no plans.”
The leech smiled. HIs blood red teeth have scared me since I was a child and now, they were even more frightening being this close to him.

“Release the princess Atlan and leave us.”

He looked angry, spitting venom from his eyes. He did as he was told quickly.

“Come to me, my only child. The day is coming very soon, where all that you know in Atlantis will be mind. And by extension, yours.”

“Father, I know nothing. I heard nothing. But if you are thinking of doing something terrible to King Orin and his kin…”
“You mean Prince Garth? He’s a strong one, he is. Well built, smart, quick swimmer. He’ll be a fine soldier and leader one day. He’s smitten with you, or so I’ve heard tell.”
“He is a fine soldier and a fine man.”
“One who would be more than worthy of being a Prince under a true King, I think. If a Princess would have him.”
My heartbeat quickly and swelled. Was he serious?
“Oh, Father, do you mean what you say? Prince Garth could be my King, my one true love? If only you mean it, do you?”

“NO!! No daughter of mine will ever marry someone of Orin’s blood! Traitor! Lock her up!”

He tossed me across the room, but my feet gripped the wall. He’s throwing me in prison. I quickly send out a signal to my flock of tuna. I would need their speed to get the message to Garth. I command them to signal the sailfish from the open ocean to help me as well. He owes me one. I’m grabbed by two mer-men and my wrists are bound with thick coral rope.

“Put this on her head. It’s a dampener to stop her from using any “inherited” abilities she may have.” I’m fitted with a strange helmet that reeks of Atlan’s fish corpse smell. So, they don’t know what I can do. Very useful information.

As they plunge me deeper into the depths of my father’s stronghold, it sets in what has happened and where I’m going. There is no light down here. It’s complete darkness in my father’s prison. I will need my fish’s’ quickness and Garth’s bravery and I will need it soon. I don’t want to become one of the Screaming. That’s what they name the prisoners my father has put here and forgotten. They scream so someone will help them, but no one hears you at the bottom of the ocean. The coldness sets in and I’m already shivering. Come, Garth. Help your love before it’s too late. You’re all I have left. And the tears flow as my heart quivers and shakes thinking of my Father’s smile, hardly seen these days.

Leave a comment