Top 5: Favorite X-Men

After finishing the excellent X-Men ’97, I got inspired to come up with my top 5 favorite X-people- I want to start out with some honorable mentions that either aren’t truly considered massive X-Men or X-People but that I really dig and want to mention in this article:

Honorable Mentions: Banshee, Polaris, Kitty Pryde, Colossus, Longshot, Cyclops

#5 Nightcrawler – Awesome fighter, awesome power and just an awesome character with a real devotion to brotherhood, family and faith. So much has been done with him over the years and while there is a complicated past, it’s one rich with story.

#4 Jean Grey – I’m not sure if there’s ever been an X-character with so many layers and so many sides to her than Jean. She’s been through everything: dumped, married, throuple, a mother, flung to the past, pushed to the future, died many times over, reborn many times over, a cosmic entity, a wicked socialite, cloned, you name it, it’s happened to Jean.

#3 Psylocke- a character that every dude I knew that read comics had a thing for- but she’s so much cooler than just eye candy. Top notch martial artist, psychic extraordinaire, then I read those early X-Men issues (maybe #21, 22?) and it’s like, is she even Betsy Braddock? Maybe Kwannon actually was- I still don’t think I know! But now becoming Captain Britain, she’s evolved a lot over the years instead of just being a hot ninja who lusted over Cyclops- she’s an awesome character through and through.

#2 Havok- I was always a fan of the other Summers brother- more aggressive, more action oriented with massive power but also a kind spirit who has been on both sides of the law. The Summers family history is beyond complicated, but Alex seemed to try and keep a level head on most situations. So many great stories with X-Factor I collected and still own from the early 90’s, that’s when he was cemented as one of my favorite X-characters of all time.

#1 Wolverine- I am not in the minority when I saw Wolvie is my favorite X-Man- I fell in love with this character at an early age, when my best bud and cousin Chris introduced me to the X-Men world at large. His favorite character is and always will be Colossus, a gentle giant with immense strength. It only made sense that my favorite would be the scrappy, shorter dynamo known was Wolverine. Our relationship kind of mirrored theirs in the comic and through all his changes, he’s still my guy. Snikt!!

BONUS_ Favorite X-Villain!

The Juggernaut!!

Leave a comment