Fantasy Football 2021 Season Report

I’m going to be brutally honest: this season was exhausting. I’ve never had to replace so many players week to week, and even in sometimes, replace the replacements. This has been my worse finish overall (6th out of 10- just sneaking into the playoffs) and finishing with a dead even 7-7 record.

My playoff hopes were dashed by Cooper Kupp , pretty much single-handedly, but it puts me out of my roster scrambling misery.

Who did I draft and how did they do this year? Well, here’s a list of all players at each position I used this season.

Quarterback:

  1. Aaron Rodgers (started 12 weeks)
  2. Carson Wentz (started 2 weeks)

Wide Receiver:

  1. Terry McLaurin (started 13 weeks)
  2. Michael Pittman jr (started 7 weeks)
  3. Jaylen Waddle (started 6 weeks)
  4. Julio Jones (started 4 weeks)
  5. Tyler Boyd (started 3 weeks)
  6. Corey Davis (started 2 weeks)

Running Back:

  1. Ezekiel Elliott (started 13 weeks)
  2. Javonte Williams (started 8 weeks)
  3. Saquon Barkley (started 8 weeks)
  4. Elijah Mitchell (started 7 weeks)

Tight End:

  1. Darren Waller (started 10 weeks)
  2. Foster Moreau (started 3 weeks)
  3. Hunter Henry (started 1 week)

Defense/Special Teams:

  1. Ravens (started 5 weeks)
  2. Dolphins (started 3 weeks)
  3. Bengals (started 3 weeks)
  4. Steelers (started 2 weeks)
  5. Seahawks (started 1 week)

Kicker:

  1. Matt Gay (started 13 weeks)
  2. Randy Bullock (started 1 week)

Player of the Week(highest scoring member of team):

  1. Aaron Rodgers (7 weeks- 1 tie)
  2. Ezekiel Elliott (3 weeks – 1 tie)
  3. Darren Waller, Corey Davis (1 week- tied)
  4. Terry McLaurin, Elijah Mitchell, Carson Wentz, Javonte Williams (1)

Top 5 performers of the Season:

#1 Aaron Rodgers (300 points)

“Putting aside his politics and views on the world, which did cost his team a game with him at the helm, he’s played like a maestro conducting an orchestra. It’s been downright amazing watching him perform this season. He is the coolest customer; never seeming like he’s in trouble. Taking away Week 1 where he got a measly 2 points in an awful showing, he has won games (convincingly) and carried my teams some weeks to victory. He has been a stud all season.”

#2 Ezekiel Elliott (165 points)

“After watching Hard Knocks before our draft, when I got 6th draft and Zeke fell to me, I felt confident he was about to turn his career around this season. With all the chatter about Tony Pollard and snap counts and knee injuries, Zeke rocketed off to an miraculous start and maintained his dominance through the first 3rd of the season, then becoming someone who would score a TD every other game, or be involved in the passing game here and there. He still did enough to get second on my list: in hindsight, you hate not to play him as he could break free at any time but there wasn’t a single week I played him where it was the wrong move based on the rest of my team.”

#3 Terry McLaurin (127 pts)

“You may think this is crazy, but when I sat out Fantasy in the 2020 season, I instead bought Madden and played through each team’s season. When I played the WFT, any pass on the field, any coverage, I threw to “Scary” Terry, he caught and got yards after catch. In my head, I told myself, if the chance comes up to draft him this season, do it. And he fell into my lap. Now, Terry had some fantastic games but he also had some absolute duds. I like Taylor Heineke for not being intimidated but Terry would thrive under a seasoned qb. He was still my most used pass-catcher as his potential was too great to not play. I had one week where I should have used rookie sensation Jaylen Waddle instead but it happens.”

#4 Matt Gay (125 points)

“This tells you two things: I had a garbage season with no reliability in my offensive key positions and Matt Gay is a really, really great kicker. This shows you there is value in diving into those Defense and Kicker positions earlier than you may think is relevant because having a stone cold killer as a kicker is a nice thing to have. He never scored less 8 points most weeks (save 2) and netted double digits points 6 times. Really glad I drafted him this season.”

#5 Elijah Mitchell (106 points)

“This was my waiver wire home run of the season. Considering I only got to play him 7 weeks, I can’t imagine what he would have done if he was able to stay healthy. What a freakin’ stud this guy was in all his starting attempts. He blew through nearly every team he came up against. I started this guy any week he was healthy and I hope he makes playoffs and flourishes there too!”

Leave a comment